Mikkel and AJ all set for ELRC

ELRC_LeicesterThe Vortex Lakeside Hammers will be represented by newly appointed Skipper Andreas Jonsson and the high flying Dane, Mikkel Bech at the Elite Leauge Riders Championship, which takes place at Leicester Lions on Saturday 21st March, with tapes up at 7.30pm.

The Danish star  was first out of the hat,  drawn at number one which will see him take on Niels-Kristian Iversen (King’s Lynn), Bjarne Pedersen (Leicester) and Kenneth Bjerre in his opening heat.  AJ was drawn at Number 7, which will include Matej Zagar (Belle Vue), Scott Nicholls (Belle Vue), Jason Doyle (Leicester) for his opener.

Alex Harkess, British Speedway Promoters’ Association Chairman, said: “It only seems like two minutes since we were at the end of last season and, here we are, looking ahead to the first BSPA shared event of the year.

“I’d like to thank Leicester Speedway for hosting the meeting, the return of the sport to this city has been a major success and a huge positive for British Speedway.

“They have shown great ambition in their move into the Elite League and I am delighted they have made a success of that move.

“Leicester is ideally located for a meeting of this stature and I’m sure we will see a bumper crowd with fans from throughout the country travelling to see some of the top stars in world speedway in action.”

Full draw:

Mikkel Bech (Lakeside), Niels-Kristian Iversen (King’s Lynn), Bjarne Pedersen (Leicester), Kenneth Bjerre (King’s Lynn), Matej Zagar (Belle Vue), Scott Nicholls (Belle Vue), Andreas Jonsson (Lakeside), Jason Doyle (Leicester), Chris Holder (Poole), Freddie Lindgren (Wolverhampton), Troy Batchelor (Swindon), Chris Harris (Coventry), TBC (Poole), Nick Morris (Swindon), Hans Andersen (Coventry), Jacob Thorssell (Wolverhampton).