Test match teams announced

This Friday, 3rd June, will see the Lakeside Hammers stage the second Test in the Official BSPA/MA series between Great Britain and Australia at their Arena-Essex Raceway.

Neil Middleditch and Craig Boyce the Managers of Great Britain and Australia respectively have now announced the names of the riders whom they have chosen to represent their countries.

Middleditch has chosen for Great Britain Grand Prix rider Chris Harris to lead the side. He will be joined by Tai Woffinden, Edward Kennett, Lewis Bridger and Daniel King plus Ben Barker and Robert Mear, both of whom will be making their debut for the senior GB side. Mear is a member of the current Lakeside Hammers 2011 team.

The Australian team will comprise of three riders who race for Poole in the Sky Sports Elite League, namely Grand Prix rider Chris Holder, Davey Watt and Jason Doyle. In addition they will also include Rory Schlein, Ty Proctor and Troy Batchelor plus Lakeside Hammers own Aussie Adam Shields.

Lakeside Hammers Co Promoter Jon Cook commented: “The weathermen are predicting a sizzling hot day on Friday and I think the action will match. The Brits will be the underdogs but with a great bunch of youngsters determined to stake their claim for a World Cup spot I think we could be in for a shock result. It will also be great for Hammers fans to see Rob (Mear) and Adam (Shields) on opposite sides for this Test match ”

The Lakeside Hammers Club will help build a partisan support for Great Britain by giving out Union flags to the first hundred kids to come through the gates.

Full admission details for this Ashes Test Match are as follows: Adults £17.50, Concessions £13 with Kids aged 6 to 16 just £1. Fans will be able to purchase their tickets on the night from the pay booths or in advance from the Club’s online shop, which can be accessed via the Club’s website at www.lakesidehammers.com

Rob Mear (red) and Stuart Robson celebrate a 5-1 for Lakeside  (Gavin Ellis/TGSPHOTO)