The Hammers are ready for tonight


The Vortex Lakeside Hammers take on the Coventry Buildbase Bees tonight (Monday 27th July) at the Arena Essex Raceway at 7.30pm in the live Sky Sports Elite League match.

Former Hammers Captain Davey Watt comes into the team to cover for injured Swede Kim Nilsson whilst Adam Roynon replaces Ashley Birks, who is out for the season with a shoulder injury, as one of the two Elite Draft Riders alongside Adam Ellis.

The Hammers team is captained by Grand Prix rider Andreas Jonsson who is joined by Hammers regulars Mikkel Bech, Edward Kennett and Richard Lawson.

Coventry will field their full strength declared one to seven that sees their Grand Prix rider and captain Chris Harris lead the side. He is joined by former Hammers riders Stuart Robson, Danny King and Joonas Kylmakorpi along with former Grand Prix rider Hans Andersen. Their two Elite Draft Riders are Jason Garrity and James Sarjeant.

The Hammers will be looking for revenge against the Bees who beat them by five points in their meeting at the Arena Essex Raceway earlier in the season, which saw the Hammers lead up until the final two races.

The substantially reduced admission prices of £5 for adults and adult concessions along with £2 for children aged seven to sixteen inclusive will still be available online via the Club’s website until 1pm today when the online shop will close. These prices will, however still be available on the night at the paybooths.

Those who have purchased their tickets online are asked to print off the email confirmation they received as this is their entry ticket. After parking up in the large free parking areas they should walk up to the double gates at the top of the drive with their printed off ticket where they will gain entry.  Gates open at 6pm.

The Hammers boss Jon Cook stated ahead of this important match: “It’s a big night already for the Club with the biggest attendance of the season guaranteed. Our off track team have done a superb job now it’s up to our riders.”


Lakeside Vortex Hammers: Andreas Jonsson (c), Mikkel Bech, Edward Kennett, Richard Lawson, Davey Watt, Adam Roynon (EDR), Adam Ellis (EDR).

Coventry Buildbase Bees: Chris Harris (c), Stuart Robson, Daniel King, Joonas Kylmakorpi, Hans Andersen, Jason Garrity (EDR), James Sarjeant (EDR).

Image: Richard Lawson