All about The Lakeside Hammers

Welcome to the official website for The Lakeside Hammers Speedway team.  The Extreme Team Sport.

The Hammers raced at the Arena Essex Raceway until September 2018 when they were forced to re-locate after the Raceway complex closed after being sold for re-development.

The club’s licence is currently on ice for the 2019 season, whilst a new venue is sourced within the Thurrock district.


All about Speedway

With a top speed of around 80mph. Speedway bikes have no brakes, just one fixed gear, a clutch and 500cc engines which run on methanol fuel. In power to weight ratio, a speedway bike can accelerate from 0-60 mph, faster than a Formula 1 car.

Speedway tracks are oval and vary across the country. They are covered with shale, a surface which allows riders to power slide around the corners in spectacular fashion.

Typical Speedway league racing is run between two teams over 15 heats (or races) which each consist of four laps. Each team has 7 riders with 2 riders from each team taking part in each heat with a simple objective – to beat the opposition and get to the chequered flag first! The Hammers riders are identified by red and blue helmet colours and their famous crossed Hammers racesuits.

If a rider wins a race he earns his team 3 points, 2 points for second and 1 point for third.
In addition to club racing, an individual world championship Grand Prix takes place throughout the year at some of Europe’s leading venues.

Club Honours

ko cup winners1


Elite League Knockout Cup winners – 2009
British League Division Two Champions – 1991
British League Division Two Cup winners – 1991
British League Division Two Cup finalists (2) – 1991, 1999
British League Division Two Four Team champions – 1991
British League Division One Cup finalists (1) – 1993
Division Two Riders Champion (2) – Neil Middleditch (1985), Andrew Silver (1987).
Grand Slam Champions (2) – Martin Goodwin (1985), Andrew Silver (1987).

World Finalists (2) – Brian Karger (1992), Leigh Adams (1993)
Grand Prix (4) – Josh Larsen (1995), Mark Loram (2004), Tony Rickardsson (2005),
Andreas Jonsson (2006, 2007, 2008)

Elite League / Division One Riders Championship finalists – Brian Karger (1992), Leigh Adams (1993, 94, 95), Josh Larsen (2004), Mark Loram (2005), Mikael Max (2006), Krzysztof Kasprzak (2007), Adam Shields (2007)

Premier League / Division Two Riders Championship Finalists – Alan Sage (1984), Neil Middleditch (1985), Andrew Silver (1985, 86), Martin Goodwin (1987, 88, 89, 90), Bo Petersen (1991), Troy Pratt (1997), Leigh Lanham (1998, 1999, 2001, 2002), Colin White (2000), Joonas Kylmakorpi (2003)